Len Van Brook -Tableaux, photographie, art photographique

Len Van Brook

  Pisco Sweet de Len Van Brook
Pisco Sweet
Surreal Places
de € 499 à € 899
  Trail de Len Van Brook
Trail
Surreal Places
de € 299 à € 899
  Chill out de Len Van Brook
Chill out
Surreal Places
de € 499 à € 849
  Poppy Flies de Len Van Brook
Poppy Flies
Surreal Places
de € 599 à € 999
  Las Vegas de Len Van Brook
Las Vegas
Lost in Translation
de € 349 à € 2 190
  London de Len Van Brook
London
Lost in Translation
de € 399 à € 1 299
  New York de Len Van Brook
New York
Lost in Translation
de € 399 à € 1 299
  Venice de Len Van Brook
Venice
Lost in Translation
de € 499 à € 1 999
  Los Angeles de Len Van Brook
Los Angeles
Lost in Translation
de € 499 à € 2 190
  Paris de Len Van Brook
Paris
Lost in Translation
de € 499 à € 1 999
  Edinburgh de Len Van Brook
Edinburgh
Lost in Translation
de € 599 à € 2 390
  Edinburgh Detail de Len Van Brook
Edinburgh Detail
Lost in Translation
de € 349 à € 2 190
  London Detail A de Len Van Brook
London Detail A
Lost in Translation
de € 349 à € 2 190
  Joy de Len Van Brook
Joy
LIFE IN A NUTSHELF
de € 899 à € 2 390
  Arnika de Len Van Brook
Arnika
LIFE IN A NUTSHELF
de € 899 à € 2 390
  Pano de Len Van Brook
Pano
LIFE IN A NUTSHELF
de € 699 à € 1 499

Informations de fond sur Len Van Brook

Introduction

Lost in Translation

Dans sa série Lost in Translation, l’artiste Len van Brook explore un nouveau style et élargit ainsi son répertoire. De manière presque cinématographique, il convoque des protagonistes visuellement séduisants dans de grandes villes célèbres. Décor parfait pour ces femmes sublimes, intérieur et extérieur interagissent ici avec beaucoup de subtilité. L’artiste entraîne nos pensées vers le lointain tout en nous faisant revivre des métropoles qui nous sont familières. Parallèlement, il libère un champ narratif dans lequel des rencontres inattendues deviennent possibles. Grâce à une technique d’éclairage et une composition d’images parfaitement rodées, il confère à ses œuvres une atmosphère captivante aussi classique que moderne.


Len van Brook excelle dans l’art d’inclure le spectateur : profitant d’un côté d’une vue sur la ville et sur son perpétuel mouvement, ce dernier peut, de l’autre, reposer ses yeux sur le calme intérieur des chambres. Il devient alors partie intégrante des histoires racontées, lesquelles s’inaugurent par quelques gestes mélancoliques et des expressions faciales inconscientes. Ces œuvres dégagent une force narrative et émotionnelle que l’on ne retrouve nulle part ailleurs qu’au cinéma.



Life in a Nutshelf


Sur des étagères ont été rassemblés toute une variété d’objets : livres, magazines, photos, robots et même King Kong en personne. Dans leur étonnante diversité, ils sont liés par l’histoire de leur collectionneur, qui les a soigneusement agencés dans une saisissante composition. Ensemble, ils forment une sélection d’objets de grande valeur personnelle. En choisissant les étagères comme sujet de son étude, l’artiste photographe Len van Brook s’empare de leur portée expressive et les envisage tel un miroir de la personnalité. Fascinantes, ses images insolites posent tout de même une question : mais qui donc a marqué les pages du recueil de poésie et placé King Kong à côté du Répertoire des saveurs ? Quel individu a bien pu remplir de son barda ces étagères ô combien éclectiques et bariolées ?

L’expression anglaise « in a nutshell » signifie ni plus ni moins « en bref », « en venir au fait ». Stephen Hawking a ainsi résumé l’univers en le rendant intelligibles aux profanes non titulaires d’un doctorat en physique théorique. Dans sa série éponyme, van Brook condense à sa manière la vie, non pas dans une coquille (nutshell), mais sur une étagère (nutshelf). Le concept est ingénieux : cette bibliothèque richement détaillée renferme, sous forme de livres, de figurines et de souvenirs, la personnalité de son propriétaire.

Len van Brook travaille depuis de nombreuses années comme photographe, architecte d’intérieur et créateur d’objets. L’idée de convertir les étagères en œuvres d’art est née de son intérêt pour l’aménagement d’espaces, qui l’accompagne au quotidien dans ses créations. Pour lui, faire preuve de personnalité revient à ajouter cette « patine de vie » capable de transformer des murs blancs en une pièce de caractère.

Len Van Brook - Pictures, Art, Photography

Len Van Brook

  Pisco Sweet by Len Van Brook
Pisco Sweet
Surreal Places
from $ 599 to $ 1,099
  Trail by Len Van Brook
Trail
Surreal Places
from $ 399 to $ 1,149
  Chill out by Len Van Brook
Chill out
Surreal Places
from $ 599 to $ 999
  Poppy Flies by Len Van Brook
Poppy Flies
Surreal Places
from $ 749 to $ 1,199
  Joy by Len Van Brook
Joy
LIFE IN A NUTSHELF
from $ 1,099 to $ 3,090
  Arnika by Len Van Brook
Arnika
LIFE IN A NUTSHELF
from $ 1,099 to $ 3,090
  Pano by Len Van Brook
Pano
LIFE IN A NUTSHELF
from $ 899 to $ 1,999
  Las Vegas by Len Van Brook
Las Vegas
Lost in Translation
from $ 399 to $ 2,590
  London by Len Van Brook
London
Lost in Translation
from $ 499 to $ 1,599
  New York by Len Van Brook
New York
Lost in Translation
from $ 499 to $ 1,599
  Venice by Len Van Brook
Venice
Lost in Translation
from $ 599 to $ 2,490
  Los Angeles by Len Van Brook
Los Angeles
Lost in Translation
from $ 599 to $ 2,690
  Paris by Len Van Brook
Paris
Lost in Translation
from $ 599 to $ 2,290
  Edinburgh by Len Van Brook
Edinburgh
Lost in Translation
from $ 749 to $ 3,090
  Edinburgh Detail by Len Van Brook
Edinburgh Detail
Lost in Translation
from $ 399 to $ 2,590
  London Detail A by Len Van Brook
London Detail A
Lost in Translation
from $ 399 to $ 2,590

Background Information about Len Van Brook

Introduction

Lost in Translation


In his Lost in Translation series, artist Len van Brook adopts a new approach, expanding his repertoire as a storyteller. In cinematic style, he juxtaposes sensual female subjects and world-famous metropolises. In doing so, he fashions a captivating interplay between the interior and exterior worlds, which serves as an impressive backdrop for the women in focus. Van Brook skillfully plays with desire. He lures our imagination into the distance, allowing us to experience well-known cityscapes. Simultaneously, he establishes a unique framework in which unexpected encounters become possible. By means of precise lighting techniques and well-composed imagery, his works create a mesmerizing atmosphere that is classic yet contemporary.

Van Brook’s engagement with the viewer is another fascinating aspect of his works. On one hand, the window perspective captures the everlasting momentum of the city, and, on the other, the glimpse at quiet rooms and private interiors creates a sense of intimacy. Viewers become participants in the stories that unfold through meticulous movements and introspective facial expressions. The works emanate an emotional strength generally associated with the icons of contemporary cinematography.


Life in a Nutshelf



Tokens of a life come together on a shelf – books, magazines, pictures, robots, and King Kong. These objects are diverse, but they share something. Someone placed these objects upon the shelf in an unmistakable arrangement. They’re not random, they are a curated selection of objects, each with high personal value. Together, they are like pieces of a puzzle that tell their collector’s story. Photographer Len van Brook dives into the shelf and its expressive characteristics. In his work the shelf becomes the reflection of a person. His photos capture the original arrangements on the shelf from real people. Leaving you to wonder – Who marked the pages in the poetry collection? Who placed King Kong next to the thesaurus? Who filled this colorful, eclectic shelf with such objects?


The expression, “In a nutshell,” is used to describe something that is condensed, summarized, or to the point. Stephen Hawking, for example, summarized the universe in a nutshell in layman’s terms, for people that do not have a doctorate in theoretical physics. Similarly, In Van Brook’s series, he summarizes life, namely, in a nutshelf. The idea is as engaging as it is clever. The shelf, full of personal details, shares the story of its owner's life, their personality, through books, figures, and memorabilia.

For many years, Len van Brook has worked as a photographer, interior designer, and product designer. The concept of using shelves as a setting for a work of art stems from his passion for the personal design of rooms and spaces, which has always been part of his work. For him, making something personal is the "patina of life", it’s what transforms a room of four smooth white walls into something with character.