David Downton

David Downton

  • Introduction

  • Bio

  • Liens

Il s’entoure des plus belles femmes du monde. David Downton, illustrateur de mode, est un intime de la haute couture. Depuis sa consécration en 1996, ce Britannique né en 1959 dans le Kent, passe à juste titre pour l’illustrateur virtuose du monde glamour de la mode, pour le portraitiste talentueux et très demandé du milieu de la haute couture. Mais en dépit de cette grisante euphorie qui accompagne le succès foudroyant d’un dessinateur soudainement propulsé dans le monde de l'élégance et du luxe, Downton a su garder la tête sur les épaules. Il n’a pas oublié ces années difficiles au cours desquelles le jeune designer et illustrateur qu’il était ne reculait devant aucune commande.

Sa première rencontre avec la haute couture fut pour lui une révélation. Il tomba sous le charme des robes excentriques dans lesquelles Naomi Campbell, Kate Moss et d’autres déesses déambulaient devant ses yeux, sur le podium de Versace à Paris. Il se rendit rapidement compte de l'impossibilité de fixer sur son carnet d'esquisses - dans le vif de l’action et le crépitement des flashs du défilé - les ensembles créés par les grands couturiers. La gestation des dessins de mode de David Downton a donc lieu dans les coulisses… là où les modèles sont habillés et apprêtés, ou prennent une pause avant de retourner défiler sur le podium. Dans un second temps, revenu dans le calme de son atelier, il reprend ses esquisses et les habille d’encre de Chine, de gouache et de peinture acrylique.

Le style de Downton consiste à densifier le dessin pour extraire la quintessence de l’élément observé. Dans la mesure où il parvient à capter et retranscrire la magie d’un instant bien précis, la traduction picturale d’impressions et d’extravagances sensibles est une réussite. L’illustration de mode est un défi perpétuel que David Downton relève avec plaisir afin de célébrer l’élégance du corps féminin et l’envoûtante prodigalité du drapé qui l’accompagne. L’ardeur avec laquelle il retrace les formes de la haute couture sur ces splendides silhouettes féminines se retrouve dans son travail de portraitiste, qu’il soit face à Paloma Picasso, Erin O’Connor ou Catherine Deneuve.

Pourquoi pas ? est le nom du seul magazine international consacré à l’illustration de mode, créé en 2007 par David Downton. On ne saurait lui trouver une meilleure devise.

Almut Andreae

David Downton est né en 1959 dans le Kent.

En 1996, Downton fut chargé de faire des esquisses lors de défilés de mode parisiens. À ce jour, ses dessins de mode illustrent les comptes rendus des grands rendez-vous de la mode de Paris, New York ou Milan. Ses travaux sont régulièrement publiés dans des revues comme V Magazine, Vogue, Harpers Bazaar, The Times, The New York Times et The Telegraph Magazine.

Parmi ses clients figurent notamment Chanel, Dior, Tiffany New York, Harrod's, Estée Lauder et le Victoria and Albert Museum. En outre, Downton a réalisé le portrait de quelques unes des plus belles icônes féminines du monde : Dita von Teese, Erin O’Connor, Catherine Deneuve, Iman, Linda Evangelista, Rachel Weisz et Paloma Picasso. L’une de ses dernières commandes l’a amené à dessiner Cate Blanchett pour la couverture de l’édition australienne de Vogue

David Downton est depuis 2006 professeur invité au London College of Fashion. Il est titulaire depuis mai 2009 d'un doctorat honoris causa de l’Academy of Art University de San Francisco. Il est actuellement rédacteur en chef du seul magazine de dessin de mode existant au monde, Pourquoi pas ? A Journal of Fashion Illustration.

Il publiera en septembre 2010 le livre Masters of Fashion Illustration.



  • LUMAS Featuring

    Ces artistes vous intéressent-ils ?

  •   WOLFGANG JOOP 
    WOLFGANG JOOP
  •   EDUARD ERLIKH 
    EDUARD ERLIKH
  •   EFREN ISAZA 
    EFREN ISAZA
  •   GERMAN VOGUE COLLECTION 
    GERMAN VOGUE COLLECTION
  •   MICHEL COMTE 
    MICHEL COMTE
Récemment consulté(s) 0
Favoris  0
Panier 0
Le produit a été ajouté
L'article a été retiré
Retour
Paiement sécurisé
01 43 29 10 29
Service

Nous vous tenons informés !

Cercle Vernissage
Inaugurations, promotions et autres événements de LUMAS.
LUMAS
Privée
Des œuvres d’art exclusives à saisir rapidement.
LUMAS
Magazine
Le magazine d’art semestriel gratuit de LUMAS.
Veuillez remplir les champs rouges.

M. Mme

S’inscrire maintenant *Champ obligatoire

Vernissages et événements dans votre galerie LUMAS.
Œuvres d’art exclusives, disponibles très peu de temps.
Et le magazine LUMAS, gratuitement chez vous, au moins une fois par an.

Emmenez l’art dans votre vie !

Merci de votre intérêt pour LUMAS !

Demandez également le magazine gratuit LUMAS maintenant. Plein de nouvelles éditions, les artistes et leurs œuvres en coulisse, gratuitement à votre domicile au moins une fois par an !

Veuillez remplir les champs rouges.

M. Mme

S’inscrire maintenant Demander le magazine gratuitement

David Downton

David Downton

  • Introduction

  • CV

  • Links

  • More contexts

He adorns himself with the most beautiful women in the world. David Downton, fashion illustrator, is the confidant of haute couture. Since his breakthrough in 1996 as the fashion world’s illustrious illustrator, the Britian native (*Kent, 1959) has risen to the pinnacle of the international fashion scene as the talented portraitist of haute couture. But despite the euphoria and overwhelming success, the rising star among the world’s rich and beautiful has always remained down to earth.

He’ll never forget the years as a young designer and illustrator when he was happy to take any job – which made his first encounter with haute couture and even greater epiphany. The intoxicating experience of the eccentric gowns in which Naomi Campbell, Kate Moss, and other goddesses floated by on the Versace runway in Paris electrified Downton. But it was impossible, he quickly learned, to capture the celebrated couture looks on his sketchpad amidst the storm of flashing cameras. Thus Downton’s fashion illustrations all come to life backstage, where the models are dressed and fixed up, and in the breaks before they return to the runway. Later, in the peace and quiet of his atelier, he finishes and accentuates the hastily drawn images with black ink, gouache, and acrylic paint.

Downton’s style relies on condensing the visual impression into an essence. He successfully translates sensual impressions and extravagance into painting and illustration by capturing the magic of a particular moment and transporting it. Downton always enjoys the challenge in fashion illustration of celebrating the elegance of the female body in stunningly lavish clothes. With the same commitment to depicting haute couture on exquisite female figures Downton also excels as a portraitist of divas and models, among them Paloma Picasso, Erin O’Connor, and Catherine Deneuve.

Pourquoi pas? – Why not? is the title of the world’s only magazine for fashion illustration, which Downton began publishing in 2007. And there seems no better way to sum up his life – and his recipe for success – than that simple question.

Almut Andreae

Over the last decade, David Downton has established a reputation as one of the world’s leading fashion artists. His classically elegant, yet highly contemporary images have been a key factor in the revival of interest in the tradition of fashion illustration and David is a worthy successor to the great artists in his field including Gruau, Eric and Antonio.

In 1996 he was commissioned to draw at the Paris Couture Shows by a Sunday supplement. And since that time he has worked principally as a fashion illustrator, his reports from the shows have appeared in V Magazine, Vogue, Harpers Bazaar, The Times, The New York Times and the Telegraph Magazine among others.

His commercial client list includes; Chanel, Dior, Tiffanys New York, Harrods, Estée Lauder and the V&A Museum. In addition David has produced portraits (from life) of some of the worlds most beautiful and iconic women; Dita Von Teese, Erin O’Connor, Catherine Deneuve, Iman, Linda Evangelista, Rachel Weisz, and Paloma Picasso. One of his recent commissions was to produce four illustrated covers of Cate Blanchett for Australian Vogue.

In 2006 David was made a Visiting Professor at the London College of Fashion and in May 2009 he was awarded and honourary Doctorate from the Academy of Art University, San Francisco. He is currently the Editor-in-Chief of the world’s only journal dedicated to fashion illustration, Pourquoi Pas? A Journal of Fashion Illustration.

David’s book Masters of Fashion Illustration will be published in September 2010.



Additional Information

"David is the ultimate illustrator. He captures every nuance in the sitter’s face...we had great fun with Erin O'Connor and Linda Evangelista with their portraits (for the G Hotel in Gallway). He has a history with these people. He loves drawing them and they love being drawn by him."
PHILIP TREACY

"He is the Avedon of artists"  
CARMEN DELL'OREFICE

" ... The modern day Gruau"
VALENTINO

"A master fashion Illustrator"
VOGUE (UK)

"It felt so very glamorous to be sketched, I was absolutely astonished at the beauty of his art, and how he creates it"
DITA VON TEESE



Recent images 0
Bookmarks 0
Cart 0
Added to cart
Removed from cart
Return
Secure payment
212 219 9497
Service

We'll keep you up to date!

Vernissage Circle
LUMAS art openings, special offers, and events.
LUMAS
Privée
Exclusive art, only available for a few days.
LUMAS
Magazine
The LUMAS Art Magazine: at least once a year, for free.
Please complete the fields marked in red.

Mr. Ms.

Sign up now *Required

Opening Receptions and events in your LUMAS gallery.
Exclusive works of art, only available for a few days.
And the LUMAS Magazine, sent to you for free at least once a year.

Bring art into your life!

Thank you for your interest in LUMAS!

Sign up now for the free LUMAS Magazine, packed with new editions and background information about artists and their works, sent to your home for free at least once a year!

Please complete the fields marked in red.

Mr. Ms.

Sign up now REQUEST THE FREE MAGAZINE