Rob Scholte
 
  • Introduction

  • Bio

  • Publications

IMAGES MESSAGÈRES

Robe Scholte passe pour un fétichiste du visuel : il conserve chaque image, chaque photo qui le fascine dans sa boîte à idées. Lors de ses études d’art à la Gerrit Rietveld Academie d’Amsterdam, l’artiste hollandais poussait ses expériences de sémiotique visuelle si loin que ses professeurs lui prédisaient déjà une brillante carrière.  En 1984 a lieu sa première exposition personnelle, à la galerie amstellodamoise « The Living Room » ; son talent est alors unanimement salué par la critique. Réinterrogeant nos habitudes visuelles, ses premiers travaux sont en effet déjà porteurs d’un jeu minutieusement orchestré sur le sens des images. Son « Autoportrait » de 1988 est l’exemple typique de cette manœuvre mystificatrice : son visage est intentionnellement absent de l’image, remplacé par un signe « copyright » sur fond rouge.

Depuis sa participation à la documenta 8 de Kassel, où il exposa un pastiche sous forme de mise en abyme du « Cri » de Munch – œuvre qui souleva un tollé général -, il est internationalement reconnu. Scholte ajoute la figure du clown face au personnage initial du tableau et ironise ainsi sur le rôle de l’artiste en général.

Selon les besoins, Scholte puise dans son « archive optique » et croise des images prélevées dans les magazines avec des allusions ironiques comme : « Si Disney c’est de l’art, pourquoi l’art ne pourrait-il pas être Disney ? ». « Art is to change what you expect from it » est placé comme titre de son montage iconographique représentant la devanture d’une banque. Ses commentaires sur l’interchangeabilité des produits et des valeurs sont aussi lucides que pertinents.

En 1990, il fut en charge du pavillon néerlandais de la biennale de Venise. Sa plus grande peinture murale a pour sujet la destruction de Nagasaki et elle trône à présent dans le bâtiment reconstruit du palais résidentiel des Pays-Bas.

Privé de l’usage de ses jambes après l’attentat à la bombe qui fut dirigé contre lui en 1994, Rob Scholte n’a pas pour autant renoncé à son désir exubérant de jouer avec le sens des images, que celles-ci soient peintes par ses soins ou numériquement retravaillées. Son imagination semble inépuisable.

Christina Wendenburg

1958 Naissance à Amsterdam
Depuis 1988  Enseignant à la Rietveld Academie et au Sandberg Institute (Amsterdam)
Vit et travaille à Bergen en Norvège












Livres / Catalogues (sélection)

NOUVEL ARTISTE - INFORMATION BIENTOT EN LIGNE

> En savoir plus
< Réduire
Favoris  0
Votre œuvre a été ajoutée à vos favoris
Panier  0
Le produit a été ajouté
L'article a été retiré
  • Invitations aux événements artistiques exclusifs dans votre galerie
  • Nouveautés, offres spéciales et recommandations de nos commissaires d’exposition
  • L’Art Magazine LUMAS gratuitement chez vous
Repéré par :

Rob Scholte

Rob Scholte

  • Introduction

  • CV

  • Publications

Rob Scholte is considered a visual fetishist because he collects every image and every photo that interests him in a kind of idea archive. The Dutch artist began experimenting so excessively with the meaning of images as an art student at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam that his professors then prophesized a great career. His first solo exhibition in 1984 at The Living Room gallery in Amsterdam was celebrated by critics for the invariable talent on display, as even these early images captivated viewers with their finely composed play with the meanings of images and their way of dismantling typical modes of seeing. Scholte’s 1988 Self-portrait is a typical example of the tricks and deceptions he employed: here the purposefully missing portrait has been replaced by a yellow copyright symbol before a red background.

Scholte’s work has enjoyed international acclaim since he took part in documenta 8, when his “picture-in-picture satire” of Edvard Munch’s The Scream caused an uproar. He painted a tin clown that was in turn drawing the original The Scream, an ironic commentary on the role of the artist.

Scholte borrows from his “optical archive” as necessary and now digitally combines findings from magazines with ironic twists, for example “Disney is art, so why shouldn’t art also be Disney?” or “Art is to change what you expect from it,” which graces the montage image of a bank’s façade. His commentary on the interchangeability of objects and values is both precise and eye opening.

In 1990 he represented the Netherlands at their pavilion at the Venice Biennale. His largest painting as of yet he created with a war image from Nagasaki; it now hangs in the reconstructed Palace Residence of the Netherlands.

Even after the attempted murder of Scholte in 1994, a bomb attack that left him wheelchair bound, he maintains his exuberant desire to play with the meanings of images, be they images he paints or digitally remasters. His font of ideas is essentially inexhaustible.

Christina Wendenburg

1958born in Amsterdam, Netherlands
since 1988 instructor at the Rietveld Akademie, Netherlands and the Sandberg Institute, Amsterdam, Netherlands

lives and works in Bergen, Norway


Books/Catalogs (Selection)

NEW ARTIST – MORE INFORMATION TO FOLLOW

Recent images 0
Bookmarks 0
Cart 0
Added to cart
Removed from cart
Return
Secure payment
212 219 9497
Service

We'll keep you up to date!

Vernissage Circle
LUMAS art openings, special offers, and events.
LUMAS
Privée
Exclusive art, only available for a few days.
LUMAS
Magazine
The LUMAS Art Magazine: at least once a year, for free.
Please complete the fields marked in red.

Mr. Ms.

Sign up now *Required

Opening Receptions and events in your LUMAS gallery.
Exclusive works of art, only available for a few days.
And the LUMAS Magazine, sent to you for free at least once a year.

Bring art into your life!

Thank you for your interest in LUMAS!

Sign up now for the free LUMAS Magazine, packed with new editions and background information about artists and their works, sent to your home for free at least once a year!

Please complete the fields marked in red.

Mr. Ms.

Sign up now REQUEST THE FREE MAGAZINE