Andreas Chudowski header

Andreas Chudowski

Toutes les œuvres de Andreas Chudowski

Informations de fond sur Andreas Chudowski

C’est sur la côte du Mecklembourg (Allemagne), en bordure de la forêt de Nienhagen, également appelée la « forêt fantôme » par les locaux, qu’Andreas Chudowski a composé son Homme au bord de la mer. Cette scène frappante saisie par le photographe révèle une beauté mélancolique. Le lien avec le célèbre Moine au bord de la mer de Caspar David Friedrich semble évident, il relève cependant du plus pur hasard. Cette œuvre suggère éventuellement que contempler la nature, selon l’idée que s’en faisaient les peintres du romantisme, est un besoin universel et humain. L’âme fait ici écho au paysage, les ambiances intérieures et extérieures s’amalgament les unes aux autres.

Un homme solitaire se tient sur la côte, son visage pensif tourné vers la mer. En y regardant de plus près, ce motif apparemment classique est en fait une critique acerbe de notre époque. La photographie a été réalisée en 2009, en réaction à la crise économique mondiale. Chudowski rend compte une fois de plus de la force émotive de la nature et, non sans ironie, jette simultanément un regard sur l’actualité.


Daniela Kummle
Le photograhe Andreas Chudowski vit à Berlin. Il s’est spécialisé notamment sur le portrait. Il a photographié de nombreuses personnalités issues du monde des affaires, de la politique et des médias : Wolfgang Joop, Volker Schlöndorff, Guido Westerwelle, Wladimir Kaminer, James Blake ou encore Chuck Palahniuk pour ne citer qu’eux.
chudowski.de

Andreas Chudowski
 
  • Mann am Meer
  • Introduction

  • CV

  • Links

On the Baltic coast of Germany lies the Nienhäger Wood – known as the “Ghost Wood” in the local parlance. This location provided the setting for Andreas Chudowski’s “Man by the Sea”. The photographer has captured a memorable scene characterized by melanchnoly beauty. A link to Caspar David Friedrich’s “The Monk by the Sea” may seem apparent, but is merely coincedence. Perhaps it is because the observation of nature, as understood by Romantic-era painters, addresses a universal, human need. We see a reflection of our soul as we gaze out over the landscape; internal and external feelings collapse into one another.

A lonely man stands on the coast, pensively looking out at the sea. Only upon a second glance do we understand this seemingly timeless image is actually a commentary on the present. The picture was created in 2009 in response to the global economic crisis. Chudowski illustrates the emotional power of nature and uses it, with some irony, to reflect on the present.

Daniela Kummle
Berlin-based photographer Andreas Chudowski specializes in portraits. He has photographed countless celebrities from the fields of economics, politics, and the media – including Wolfgang Joop, Volker Schlöndorff, Guido Westerwelle, Wladimir Kaminer, James Blake, and Chuck Palahniuk.

> read more
< read less
Wish list 0
This work has been added to your wish list
Cart  0
Added to cart
Removed from cart
Cover to cover inspiration. The LUMAS Art Magazine.

In the LUMAS Art Magazine, you’ll find hand-picked new discoveries, the latest works, and a lot more. Request a free copy now delivered to you at home.

Always up to date. The LUMAS Newsletter.

Be the first to find out more about our new art, special promotions, and recommendations from the LUMAS Curators. You can also look forward to invitations to exclusive art events in your LUMAS gallery.
Mr. Ms.
Art Magazine Newsletter
//fill search fields on main stage Select your language